The International Space Station is a space exploration and research platform orbiting more than 350km above the earth. It is a joint project of five space agencies and 16 countries (Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The United Kingdom, and the United States). The largest and most complicated spacecraft ever built, the space station is an international, technological and political achievement that represents the latest step in humankind’s quest to explore and live in space.